FFXIV Mounts

FFXIV Mounts has been created to archive all FFXIV mounts to become the most complete and accurate list on the internet. Travelling around Eorzea in FFXIV can be a long and difficult process on foot, especially when you’ve got an event to attend in a completely different region. Fortunately Square Enix, the developers, have created a plethora of mounts that can be ridden throughout the game. Traditional mounts such as the Chocobo, seen throughout the Final Fantasy series are taken to whole new levels, while new mounts such as the Drake, Direwolf, and Goobbue are introduced into the game. Take a look at the list of FFXIV mounts on this site to see what mounts await you in this MMORPG and find out how to get them!For your convenience, here’s a list of mounts that are easily obtained. These have been chosen due to being acquired via completing the main story quests, completing fast side quests or bought with real world money on the Mogstation store.


Black Chocobo
Company Chocobo
Draught Chocobo
Fat chocobo
Magitek Armor

Please browse the site for the full list as well as information on how to obtain them. Updated for Heavensward 3.0!

Everything you need to know about FFXIV mounts

It is going to be absolutely impossible for you to navigate the world of Final Fantasy XIV (FFXIV) with any real speed until you get your hands on one of the top flying mounts that this game provides.

Of course, tracking down all of the best mounts XIV has to offer is nowhere near as easy or as effortless as it may seem on the surface. You’re only going to be able to acquire your first mount at Level 20 (when sign up with a Grand Company), and after that you’re really going to have to search or save for mounts that are actually worth owning.

If you are serious about really unlocking and unleashing everything that all of these mounts have to offer, really diving into the full FFXIV mount list to complete every single piece of game content available, you’re going to want to pay close attention to all of the inside information that we share with you on this site.

Let’s dive right in!

Breaking down the two different types of Final Fantasy XIV mounts available

Even though there are more than a dozen different mounts available in Final Fantasy XIV Cal each and every one of these completely different and distinct FFXIV mounts can be categorized into one of two different groups:

  • Ground FFXIV mounts
  • The new Heavensward flying FFXIV amounts

As of right now, the overwhelming majority of the mounts that you are going to find in this game (and the types of mounts that make up the bulk of the FFXIV mount list) are of the ground variety, with flying mounts pretty rare and difficult to get your hands on unless you know exactly what you’re doing.

The bulk of players in the game right now are still cruising around the world on the back of more traditional mounts, but if you have the patients, the time, and the dedication to obtain a flying mount in the game and securing it through any one of the special quests, you’ll be able to enjoy a 200% boost in speed over traditional mounts.

Getting started with FFXIV mounts

As we mentioned above, the very first mount that you are going to come across in this game is going to “unlock” when you join a Grand Company after Level 20.

Once you reach Level 20 in this game you’re going to have the opportunity to pursue a membership in any one of the Grand Companies, a major part of the main storyline and a critical component to moving forward in this game. You’ll have a couple of different options to pick and choose from, but you’ll be able to join that Grand Company regardless of the class or job that you currently have.

Sometimes you’ll need a little bit more currency than you already have in your account (and if that’s the case, you’ll want to go out and farm some extra cash ASAP). It depends upon the Grand Company that you sign up with.

Anyway, after you have successfully signed up with a Grand Company, you’re going to have the opportunity to get a Grand Company Chocobo. This ostrich like creature has always been a big part of the Final Fantasy mythology, with many longtime players and franchise fans first got involved with these cuddly looking little critters all the way back in Final Fantasy VII. It has the capability to fly, which is a big boost!

Even still, the Chocobo that you get your hands on isn’t exactly going to be the best of all the different FFXIV mounts you come across, but it is going to make the game dramatically easier for you the second that you climb aboard – and the game is going to change (very much for the better) after this initial experience.

Because of the incredible speed and travel boosting benefits that Final Fantasy XIV mounts provide you’re going to want to pursue your “mount license” from the Grand Company ASAP. You’ll have to unlock different amounts before you get the opportunity to climb on board, but once you unlock a specific kind of mount you’ll always be able to use that type from then on.

Veteran reward mounts are pretty powerful

Some of the most impressive creatures and craters on the FFVIX mount list aren’t going to be able to be unlocked “in game” unless you have acquired the requisite veteran reward points along the way.

This makes these mounts some of the rarest and most sought out mounts XIV makes available, which is why you’re going to want to really try to accumulate those that reward points just as quickly as you can. Some of them are time sensitive and will accumulate all on their own without you having to do anything, while others are going to be gameplay related so that you can have that the state bit of influence behind how many you’re able to rack up over time.

All things considered, many of these veteran reward mounts are definitely going to make the game a lot more fun. You (at least as of yet) won’t be able to unlock any flying FFXIV mounts with your vet reward points, that doesn’t mean that new DLC in the future will stop you from being able to do exactly that.

It’ll be interesting to see how things go in the future.